Taijiquan as Profession

Rum, beer, movies, nice websites, gaming, etc., without interrupting the flow of martial threads.

Taijiquan as Profession

Postby greytowhite on Mon Mar 18, 2024 9:15 am

Hey guys so I've finally entered the realm of Taiji instructor to senior citizens. As an elder Millennial I have a lot of experience with Silent Generation and Boomers as classmates but not so much as students. I plan to keep it to short forms as much as possible. I'm aware I can keep the class mostly to Qigong and then a little form at the end, to keep the feet flat instead of toe or heel up stances, and to make for higher, smaller stances when possible. A friend mentioned that a lot of his senior students have a very difficult time with 1 legged balance so it can take 3-6 months of them doing basic PT type exercises before they can attempt the form. Do you guys have any further advice for teaching people who are less able due to age?
Practice Makes Progress
greytowhite
Wuji

Re: Taijiquan as Profession

Postby Steve James on Mon Mar 18, 2024 9:45 am

Of course, these seniors should have gotten some form of ok from their doctors. Besides that, find out why they are taking the class. Are they interested in tcc or just doing something to help their achy knees.

Imo, here's where standing should be worked on first. That's assuming it's easy for them to stand. If not, start with some seated exercises, eventually working on standing up. I've seen classes where seated and standing students are mixed. Having them see someone doing a section of the form can be inspiring --as long as it doesn't look impossible.

Sounds like a good idea to avoid one-legged positions until they're stronger. Ime, their biggest problems will be a loss of leg (quad) strength and balance.
"A man is rich when he has time and freewill. How he chooses to invest both will determine the return on his investment."
Steve James
Great Old One

Postby BruceP on Mon Mar 18, 2024 10:06 am