Xingyiquan - Master Alexander Bakari - A Question?

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

Xingyiquan - Master Alexander Bakari - A Question?

Postby scottm on Fri Jul 03, 2009 5:22 pm

Hello,

I'm relatively new to practicing XY (about 3 years) and recently moved. Where I now live, the closest person who teaches XY is a gentleman named Master Alexander Bakari.

I took a trial class at his school recently and I noticed his XY is very different from the style I used to take (Hebei Style, Master Ch'ang Tung Sheng lineage). I haven't asked Master Bakari about his lineage because I didn't want to offend him by citing the differences in styles.

Has anyone heard of Master Alexander Bakari before and is he a competent teacher to take Xingyiquan from?

Thanks in advance,
Scott
scottm
Santi

Re: Xingyiquan - Master Alexander Bakari - A Question?

Postby ashe on Fri Jul 03, 2009 5:29 pm

did GM Chang do XY? :/
discipline, concentration & wisdom
----------------------------------------
http://fallingleaveskungfu.com/
Facebook
Instagram
ashe
Great Old One

Postby scottm on Fri Jul 03, 2009 5:37 pm

He most certainly did :).

Although Chang was primarily a Shuai Jaoi stylist, he took Yang Style Tai Chi and created Ch'ang Style Tai Chi. The primary difference being that he made it where most postures have a Shuai Jaoi throw application.

He also created a Hebei style off-shoot he called Hsing-Jing. Outwardly, it looks nearly identicle to Hebei style, but is altered slightly to include Shuai Jaoi applications.

Unfortunately (for me), the school I originally learned at taught Hebei style as fundamental training and only taught Hsing-Jing to its advanced students. So I can't really speak for Hsing-Jing itself, other than what I've learned from talking to the advanced students.

But yes, long winded answer for "Yes, GM Chang did learn and teach XY"