Ba Gua = only for the experienced

Discussion on the three big Chinese internals, Yiquan, Bajiquan, Piguazhang and other similar styles.

Ba Gua = only for the experienced

Postby middleway on Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:59 am

Hi All,

What is your thought on the idea that ba gua was meant as an 'add on' art or a 'graduation art' for people who were already skilled or semi skilled in a MA system (Lohan, Shuai Jiao etc)?

And if this is the case, How has the training system developed such that it is now able to be taught to a complete novice?

Cheers
Chris
"I am not servant to the method, the method is servant to me"
Me

My Blog: http://www.martialbody.com/Blog-Research
middleway
Wuji

Re: Ba Gua = only for the experienced

Postby wiesiek on Wed Jun 06, 2012 2:32 am

I suppouse that this " only experienced" thing came from first "official" teaching done by DHC.
Guards in forbiden city was for shure experienced in different MA styles long before DHC era...
and
Bagua as the system wasn`t developed from the skratch either :)
but
Im definetly not the history expert
Joyful Fruits of the Live
wiesiek
Wuji

Postby middleway on Wed Jun 06, 2012 2:42 am

I suppouse that this " only experienced" thing came from first "official" teaching done by DHC.

Sure but most other Ba gua masters i can think of had some grounding in other arts prior to going into Ba gua too. Seems to be the trend among the really good guys.

cheers.

Chris
Me

middleway
Wuji

Postby D_Glenn on Wed Jun 06, 2012 2:42 am